I have the pleasure of interviewing Stacy Carroll today. She has written a delightful book called “The Princess Sisters,” and now we are celebrating the release of her sequel, “Frogs and Toads.”

ImageBlurb:
One kiss can change the future…for better or for worse.
Belle and her cousins have conquered their fears. Now as they navigate their way through the dating world, they start to see a “happily ever after” on the horizon. But when an unexpected school assignment forces them to examine their past, the Princess sisters realize they have a lot of questions about the fathers they’ve never met. Secrets are revealed, long lost family members are discovered, and now the girls must decide who belongs in their future and who should be kept in the past.

ME: I love stories about princesses and fairy tales, etc. What gave you the idea to write a modern retelling of our favorite fairy tale princesses?
STACY: Well, the first book The Princess Sisters came from a discussion I had with my husband one night about baby names. We were talking about the names we liked as kids. Being the typical young, American girl that I was, I thought for sure I’d grow up and have daughters named Aurora and Belle (because they were my favorite Disney princesses). Then the wheels started turning and I began to wonder…what would happen if a mom named her daughters all after fairy tale princesses? How would they react to having names like that? And how would their peers react. Boom! The Princess Sisters was born. Then as I began writing, I had more ideas involving these girls and I quickly realized it couldn’t be just one book. That’s when I knew Frogs & Toads needed to be written.

ME: Why did you become a writer?
STACY: I am a writer because I have to be. Writing is my way to relieve stress, my outlet for emotions, and it’s my happy place. I am constantly bombarded with stories and characters just dying to be written.  They come to me in my dreams, in the shower, while I’m playing with my kids. I only wish my mind and my hands worked fast enough to keep up with all their stories!

ME: When do you find time to write?
STACY: I am the mother of 3 small children, all under the age of 5. So, writing is a luxury. I don’t like to take time away from my children, so writing only happens between the hours of 9:00PM and 12:00AM. Sometimes I’ll go even later when I’m on a roll but without sleep, I turn into Monster Mommy. Someday when my kids are all in school I have hopes to write more during the day, but until then, I lead a double life. Mommy by day, Creator of worlds by night!

ME: What’s your writing process?
STACY: I honestly don’t feel like I really have a process for writing. I do not write outlines, because I never follow them. I just start at the beginning and dive right in! The characters tell the story, I’m just the scribe. When something happens that I need to follow up on later, I take notes and come back to it. I also take notes if an idea occurs to me while writing, concerning a future chapter.  My favorite part is watching the story unfold, and discovering where it goes. A book never ends how I first imagine it will.

ME: What are your biggest challenges as an author?
STACY: My biggest challenge as an author is finding time to devote to my writing. And staying focused. I’ll be honest, after taking care of three little ones all day, I am pretty tired by 9:00PM. Some nights it’s very hard to write when the couch and DVR are calling my name. But watching a book form, and then holding the paperback in my hands always makes the hard work worth it!

ME: Tell me about some of the characters in your book?
STACY: Some of my minor characters are named after favorite teachers in high school, but none of the main characters were inspired by real people. I feel like each of the five cousins have a little piece of me in them. Cinderella has become my favorite character to read because I feel I can relate to her best. But Belle is my favorite character to write, because I sometimes wish I had the spunk and attitude she does. It’s really fun to plan what will come out of her mouth next.

ME: Would you like to live in your story?
STACY: I would love to live in my story, if I were in high school again. I think the cousins are fun and they each bring something different to the group. I would definitely want to be friends with them if I were still in high school. And the teenage me would definitely be in love with Scott. I’d have to fight Cinderella for him!

ME: Who’s your favorite fairy tale princess? And why?
STACY: My favorite princess is Rapunzel. I love how she is beautiful, smart, and strong. And Rapunzel may appear to be a damsel in distress from the outside, but in the end, she is the one who rescues the prince.

ME: What will you write next?
STACY: Next I am working on the third and final book in The Princess Sisters trilogy. It focuses a lot on Snow White and unraveling the secrets to her past. It also takes place during the cousins’ senior year of high school. That scary time when you transition from child to adult. They each have to decide what the future holds for them and where they will go next.

Thank you, Stacy for coming on my blog and telling me about your latest release! For more info on where to buy “Frogs and Toads” and how to get a free copy of the first book “Princess Sisters,” see BELOW:

ImageAuthor Bio:
Stacy Lynn Carroll has always loved telling stories.  She started out at Utah State University where she pursued a degree in English, learned how to western swing, and watched as many of her fellow students became ‘True Aggies’.  She then finished her BA at the University of Utah where she got an emphasis in creative writing.  After college she worked as an administrative assistant, where she continued to write stories for the amusement of her co-workers.  When her first daughter was born, and with the encouragement of a fortune cookie, she quit her job and became a full-time mommy and writer.  She and her husband have three children, two Corgis, and a fish named Don.

Links:
Buy Frogs & Toads: HERE

The Princess Sisters free promotion: HERE

