So, lately I’ve been on a mission to find the best indie (independent self-published) books I can read. One–that’s what I’m starting to write (and loving the freedom it gives me). And two–I LOVE indie movies, so it would only make sense that I branch out to reading Indie books.

Recently I found out that newspapers rarely review indie books, and there is a general snobbery when it comes to indie works (which is so different from the film world who adore indie platforms like Sundance), but the general consensus is that these books couldn’t make it past an agent and then a publisher, so how can it be deemed worthy? WHICH OF COURSE brought out the rebel in me.

Did you know Jane Austen, William Blake, Virginia Woolf, E.E. Cummings, Emily Dickenson, Oscar Wilde, Edgar Allen Poe, Mark Twain, Benjamin Franklin, John Grisham (A Time to Kill), and Stephen King ALL started out self-publishing? And this is just a very small list. My point is, authors must get to their readers in very creative ways, and going indie is just one of them.

So, this book review marks the beginning of my reviews for Indie books on my blog, and what a debut this is. I LOVED this book!  I cried over this book. Yeah, cheesy me. And YET, there was nothing cheesy about this book.

“On Little Wings” by Regina Sirois
It’s a coming of age story. Jennifer finds a tattered photo of a girl who looks exactly like her. This novel unfolds her discovery in beautiful detail, romance, thoughtfulness and humor.

5 stars for professionalism
5 stars for entertainment
PG rating

Basically, I think I found my new favorite book! It’s definitely up there with my favorite classics. Move over “To Kill a Mockingbird.” I’m not kidding. It’s been a long time since a book has touched me this much. That’s why I’m letting you know about it! I honestly don’t think it will be long before this book is picked up by a national publisher.

With that said, if you have a good indie book that you’d like to recommend for others to read, I would love for you to post it on my goodreads group: http://www.goodreads.com/group/show/69691-good-self-published-books

That way I (and others) can put it on a to-read list.

After much thought, I’ve decided against blogtours for books on this blog, but feel free to post your favorite indie books on my group site (link above). And if I find a great indie book that’s in the genre that I love through that site, I will review it here too!

