Book Tour Blog Review: “Bound”

When my friend Christine Bryant told me she was going Indy with her book “Bound,” I was blown away by the possibilities. I was thrilled to find someone embarking on the exciting journey of e-books. She, and a group of author friends, decided to release their books on 11-11-11. So even though I might possibly be the worst blogger in the history of the world (I’m surprisingly better at twitter), I love Christine’s adventurous spirit. So though it is way too late at night), I am more than willing to do a review of her book, “Bound.”

First of all, I’d like to give you a little background on Christine’s book. It is a YA Paranormal romance. Here is her blurb:

When a photo shoot ends in tragedy, Kira discovers her best friend, Lydia, has been keeping a secret. Knowing the truth, and accepting it, will change Kira’s life forever and thrust her into a world of ancient curses, magical objects, and savage enemies. What happens next will challenge everything Kira knows about her world, herself and the shape-shifting warrior she’s falling in love with. No longer the timid mouse her mother accused her of being, but a woman who finds the mental and physical strength to endure and survive.”

My Favorite Things:

This is a best friends’ book. The two girls Lydia and Kira are inseparable. They were just two normal girls (well, not NORMAL), but it was refreshing to see a healthy friendship portrayed in a book.

Appreciative nod number two: I’m okay with vampires and werewolves—they’re pretty hot and great dressers—but vampire stories are getting old. So, what does Christine do in the face of this dilemma? She creates a new supernatural brooding half-mortal, and she does a great job of it. She spins a new world within our world to create new rules and new possibilities.

Christine also has a gift with words (a good thing since she’s an author). The plot-line in her story is tight. There are no continuity problems. She’s an expert at twists and plot exposition. Her story is complex in its creativity, but I wasn’t confused once.

My Take:

I read “Bound” in a matter of days, and enjoyed Christine’s fresh take on YA fantasy. This is the first book of a trilogy, and she has set up an exciting tale that will carry onto her next books. However on a side note, there is some violence and sexual tension. Our hero, Octavion is a bit like an Edward or a Heathcliff, though he did show signs of redeeming himself for the sequel. All in all, the book was a swashbuckling adventure, full of creativity with characters demonstrating a fierce loyalty and unconquerable spirit.

Order Christine’s book, “Bound”at christinebryant.blogspot.com 

